Chancellor Marye Anne Fox receives the medal from President Barack Obama at the White House, November 17, 2010.

Chancellor Fox Awarded the NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE


UC SAN DIEGO CHANCELLOR MARYE ANNE FOX received the National Medal of Science in 2010, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on scientists, engineers, and inventors. A nationally recognized organic chemist and academic leader, Fox has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society, and to fellowships in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has also received honorary degrees from twelve U.S. institutions. Her research has focused on fundamental principles that were later translated into practical use in solar energy conversion, environmental remediation, and materials science.

“I always thought I would be a scientist. Once you’ve understood something that didn’t exist before, it’s almost like you have to figure out what the answer to the next question is, and generate the next question after that. Each one of them leads you closer and closer to a fuller understanding of nature.”
—Marye Anne Fox

Fox is the most recent member of the UC San Diego community to receive this prestigious award. Previous living National Medal of Science recipients from UC San Diego are E. Margaret Burbidge, astrophysics (1983); Michael H. Freedman, mathematics (1987); Yuan-Cheng Fung, bioengineering (2000); Andrew Viterbi, electrical and computer engineering (2008); and Craig Venter, pharmacology (2009).