Officers and Regents

UC San Diego Academic and Administrative Officers


Pradeep K. Khosla

Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Suresh Subramani

Vice Chancellor for Advancement

Steven Gamer

Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Becky Petitt

Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences and Dean, School of Medicine

David A. Brenner

Vice Chancellor for Marine Sciences; Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography;
and Dean, Graduate School of Marine Sciences

Margaret S. Leinen

Vice Chancellor for Research

Sandra A. Brown

Vice Chancellor for Resource Management and Planning

Gary C. Matthews

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Juan C. González

Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Pierre Ouillet

Officers of the University of California


Janet Napolitano

Provost and Executive Vice President – Academic Affairs

Aimée Dorr

Executive Vice President – Business Operations; Chief Financial Officer

Nathan Brostrom

Senior Vice President – Government Relations

Nelson Peacock

Senior Vice President - Public Affairs

Julie Henderson

Vice President - Laboratory Management

Kimberly S. Budil

Vice President – Legal Affairs and General Counsel

Charles F. Robinson

Executive Vice President – UC Health

John D. Stobo

Senior Vice President/Chief Compliance Officer and Audit Officer

Sheryl Vacca

Chief Investment Officer; Vice President of Investments

Jagdeep Singh Bachher

Regents Ex-Officio

Governor of California

Jerry Brown

President of the University of California

Janet Napolitano

Lieutenant Governor of California

Gavin Newsom

Speaker of the Assembly

Toni G. Atkins

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Tom Torlakson

President of the Alumni Associations of the University of California

Yolanda Gorman

Vice President of the Alumni Associations of the University of California

Rodney Davis

Appointed Regents

Richard C. Blum (2026)

William De La Peña (2018)

Gareth Elliott (2025)

Russell S. Gould (2017)

Eddie Island (2017)

George Kieffer (2021)

Sherry L. Lansing (2022)

Monica Lozano (2022)

Hadi Makarechian (2020)

Eloy Ortiz Oakley (2024)

Norman J. Pattiz (2026)

John A. Pérez (2024)

Bonnie Reiss (2020)

Frederick Ruiz (2016)

Richard Sherman (2025)

Bruce D. Varner (2018)

Paul D. Wachter (2016)

Charlene Zettel (2021)

Student Regent

Abraham (Avi) Oved (2016)

Alumni Regents Designate (Nonvoting)

Harvey Brody (2016)

Cynthia So Schroeder (2016)

Student Regent Designate (Nonvoting)

Marcela Ramirez (2017)

Faculty Representatives (Nonvoting)

Mary Gilly (2015)

Dan Hare (2016)

Staff Advisor to the Regents

Deidre Acker (2016)

Staff Advisor-Designate

LaWana Richmond (2016)